Being a member of a Melanie fans’ group on Facebook always ensures I revisit my beloved tunes from the past. I find it quite something when lyrics that appealed to 12 year old me can now appeal to me in a whole new way, if not even more so. Melanie’s lyrics are often melancholy and poetic at the same time, in my opinion. I have personally declared her as a poet in a previous post. Even her sad songs can cheer me out of a bad mood.

Recently, it was a song that I do have on a vinyl album in the house, but I haven’t spun it in some time. But apart from the lyrics, there is the loveliest guitar intro! Well again, in my opinion. But then I thought to myself: Even if a person isn’t interested in Melanie’s music or voice (or I post of mine about Melanie 🙂 ), they might still enjoy the chord progressions at the beginning, but might not ever take a chance to give it a try 🙂

So if readers are interested… enjoy the loveliest guitar intro or just enjoy reading the loveliest lyrics of Love in My Mind provided below:

“Love In My Mind”

When I get so lonely
That tears start to fall
I just sing it all in this little rhyme
That changes the time
From the pain of the world
To the love in my mind…

In the middle of the night
I thought I was sleepin’
I heard someone weepin’ so bitterly
“Well I knew it was me”…
So I hugged on my pillow
And I think it hugged me…

World world go away
Come again another day
When I can see I’m a pretty me
A pretty she
And I was made for the world
And the world was made for me…

Think I’ll get a moonbeam
That’s silver and shines
And that vows to be mine
For the rest of my time
In the loveliest rhyme
Change the pain of the world
For the love in my mind…

In the loveliest rhyme
Change the pain of the world
For the love in my mind…

In the loveliest rhyme.