I know I am not alone in feeling frustrated with the recent changes in the Twitter social media platform and experience. I have noticed some connections that may be gone forever because of it. I still do value the content and information that I can access in different ways on Twitter, so I consider it a good online repository.

This isn’t the only example, but it is a recent one that did confirm a continued benefit of sticking with a Twitter account: I found photos taken in the 1930s of my uncle and grandfather. A few of my family members were trying to find more information about a ship that my grandfather sailed and may have owned at some point. We all have bits of information, photos, and stories shared amongst our remaining generation. I didn’t really expect to find anything when I searched a few terms and hashtags on Twitter, so I was really surprised by what came up in some tweets from 2014 and 2015! And the person who posted them is in my same province!

The links to the two tweets are here and here.

My relatives are on the right in both photos, and yes, they are on the good ship Severn. AND… there are more photos! “BeachKnot” and I are now connected. He messaged back to me that he had hoped that the family would find these posts. I am so grateful that both he and I did not delete our Twitter accounts! He will be in touch soon with more photos!

Dear readers: Have you deleted your Twitter account? If not, do you now use your Twitter account for different purposes than you used to? Do you have a story of a successful search for something using Twitter or another social media platform?