I often worried about how sad I would be when Melanie died, and now I know. That’s not to say I didn’t wonder if she would outlive me, as one never knows! She addressed her fans as “Dear Ones” and now I am one of the many dear ones who are impacted by her death on Tuesday, January 23, 2024. There was no preparing for the message that her family posted to Facebook on January 24th. She was gone. She would have been 77 next week. (February 3rd).

It took a few days to see Canadian news sites mentioning her death. And as expected, she was noted for one of her top hits, Brand New Key. But that song cannot capture the breadth and depth of her musical talent and recordings.

I have lived 6 decades and the last 5 of them as a big Melanie fan. And she was still active in her musical career — performing online and in person. She just recently hired a new manager and was working on a new album. Two days after her death, one of the new recordings was posted to her official YouTube account. (**see post update below) It is a cover of Hurt. Most people might recall Johnny Cash’s cover of it. But like so many of Melanie’s cover songs, she made it her own. I think it served as a great comfort to her family and fans.

I have written a number of posts on this blog related to Melanie and what she meant to me. A number of my favourite songs of hers are contained within these posts here.

I thought this memoriam posted to YouTube captured how those who have met and loved Melanie feel right now. He emotionally struggles to get through it, but he suggests the albums that hooked me on Melanie for life.

And as my dear friend, Nancy, reminded me, “You will always have her music”. 

**post update: Her manager confirmed that it was her last recording.