If you use Twitter for education connecting, learning, and conversations, you have likely read some of the blog posts that are circulating regarding some concern about being “connected” in education.  There seems to be some disappointment with “Personal Learning Networks” (PLNs) and some examination about how social media is being used for education networking, sharing, promoting, etc.

I have been reading some of the posts and trying to understand what the main concern and conflicts are.  I haven’t shared or commented on the posts — these are networks that I am not really a part of and I see the posts via an “RT” usually.  I see educators using Twitter this way and that way, just as I see many people and organizations using it different ways.  It can be easy to wonder who is actually reading and learning via Twitter and blogs and not just posting their own links, status updates, and news.  People will use it as they wish, want different things from it, just as people will read, share, “RT”, and ignore different things.

I wonder if some of the disappointment has to do with the expectations that one has coming into Twitter and building a PLN.  Do some want to be a “rock star” for many, while some just want to be rock for a few, or connect and share within a smaller network or community?  Doug Peterson posted today and shared some aspects of this topic and conversation.  I appreciated his reflection, as well as Tom Whitby’s post regarding “RTing” that Doug linked and reflected on.

Being someone who tweets and blogs mostly about parent roles in education, I knew I would never be a top tweeter or receiver of RTs, and I didn’t expect or want to be.  I have read some concerns about the lack of comments on blogs, while some don’t even get many views of a post.  I rarely have a blog post that gets over 100 views, but after 115 posts and 4 years later, I still post.  I think I am waning though, but that is both about me and what I have learned about social media.

The post of mine that got the most views on a single day is not one that is necessarily my best or most thought provoking.  I know it got those views because somehow it got on the radar of an educator with many followers.  That one day.. that one tweet (and no, I didn’t RT it).  The person has never shared another post of mine that I am aware of… the numbers would have told me :).  I do understand the frustration with people RTing people (and the same people more), instead of it being about the ideas (even if only a perception).  Do the “influencers” who are well established in networks understand the perspectives and actions of others who are trying to find purpose and value in the use of social media?

People “RTing” their own compliments and the tweets of others who have shared their posts can bother me too.  But when I see that many people seldom get their tweets or posts shared/RT’d, I can understand why they might use a different strategy, even it if appears self-promotional.  These spaces and the hierarchies that still exist within them affect our choices and conduct.  I don’t think there is a science or perfect protocol for it all.  I don’t know… but just thought I would write about my perspective and observations.  I don’t claim to understand it all either.

