This is just a “sappy” post-Christmas post … one more in my nostalgic series… 🙂

We took our Christmas tree down this past weekend.  The Christmas season itself is not too difficult for our family “to let go” when the time comes, but the removal of the tree seems to come with much more sadness.  I have never had a Christmas without a real tree, and now, my children as well.  I am sure that some of the trees of my childhood were just from the bush in the rural area where I grew up.  Perhaps our family spends too much on a “nursery” or “cut your own” tree, but it continues to be an important and special part of the holiday for us.  This year’s balsam fir was especially beautiful, but my husband says that I say that every year.  Even though the decorated tree may look almost the same as previous years, there are always pictures taken — of the tree, of the decorations, and with family members beside it.

In a sentimental moment using my phone’s camera, I took pictures of all the cardinal bird decorations.

IMG-20141223-00965 (3)IMG-20141223-00973 (3)IMG-20141223-00971 (3)IMG-20141223-00966 (3)

 

 

 

IMG-20141223-00969 (3)IMG-20141223-00974 (3)IMG-20141224-00978 (4)

 

 

 

They are one of my favourite songbirds, although we don’t see many in our area.  Our tree also has other bird “species” amongst the more traditional ornaments — blue jay, American goldfinch, goose, loon, and dove, of course.

We had thought about propping the discarded tree in a snow bank in the yard for real birds to enjoy, just as birder and photographer, Paul Roedding. suggests here.  But thankfully our city provides areas to drop off Christmas trees for recycling and our tree is in of those heaps now.

So that ends another Christmas season and its special moments.  The “cardinal collection” is packed away but I will continue to watch for the real birds in the trees in the winter months ahead.  A bohemian waxwing I met recently…

IMG-20150108-01032 (4)

I also continue to appreciate the excellent photos of wildlife and birds that Paul Roedding shares on his website and his social media sites.  He is in London, Ontario, where I lived for a few years some time ago….and where I did see more cardinals.  Winter can be long, but if the birds can do it…

 

