I often forget which of my past blog posts covered communication with parents more specifically, so I am pulling some together in this post.  I hope this might be useful for communication plans for schools, principals, and teachers.  Each post links to other writers on the topic.  Communication is key to parent engagement and support, as well as being aware of the “messages” that are being sent in the way communication occurs.

Educators and Parents: Communication and Conversations

Parent Communication in Education

Is the message in the medium?

Also, a guest post I wrote for principals which focuses on communication:

A Principal’s Map For Parent Involvement

This is another good one for principals via ASCD: Connecting with Parents: Five Tips for Principals

Larry Ferlazzo has also been gathering ideas to help teachers with communication with parents at the beginning of the school year.  There are good examples in his post that should help get the school year off to a good start and sustain further positive communication with parents.

Parent groups and associations also facilitate good communications with parents, so I encourage connecting with those efforts in your local area as well.

There are many other good resources available on this topic.  I will add others as I come across them.  I welcome your posts, resources, and ideas for communication strategies with parents and families in your school community.

