….the question I pondered after reading/listening to some links I clicked on Twitter this week. I often catch bits about the U.S. education debates regarding “The Common Core”, but I certainly don’t have the understanding of the context and issues.  But it does catch my curiosity at times.

I read this post with interest.  The idea about the importance of a knowledge base so that one could “never be lost” did make me stop and think.  It outlines the importance of teaching a base of common knowledge/curriculum.

Following that read, I listened to this video interview that was shared with the quote, “90 percent of what we typically teach is a waste of time.”  It’s a short (less than 3 min.) clip with insight from David Perkins, Professor of Harvard Graduate School of Education.  He suggests that the question that isn’t asked enough is, “What’s worth learning?”  He also states, “We need to teach content looking for…. understandings of wide scope…”.  I thought his final statement in the clip was accurate, “Curriculum is one of the most resistant fronts of education.”

Is there a meeting in the middle of all this for schools?  How do schools meet both present and future needs for knowledge, skills and learning?  Consider this read about knowledge, working, and learning management in the “networked era” by Harold Jarche.  Are we still figuring out the value and impact of “networked” knowledge sharing in our adult worlds?  Yet learning, understanding, and knowledge can come from many directions and sources.

What are the implications for schools, teaching, and curriculum throughout K – 12?  I am struggling to see the right balance and approach.  It is easy to get lost in semantics as well.

 

 

 

