Another day of snow in spring… maybe a music-related blog post will help (also stealing an idea and theme from Doug Peterson’s blog.)

I often enjoy “covers” of songs, especially when new musicians refresh some of my favourites.  It leads to a lot of conversation, discovery and comparison in my household.  My youngest recently told me that one of her teachers referred to “that dancing in the dark song”.  She noticed a few of her classmates looking a bit surprised so she clarified for the teacher, “I think she means the song by Bruce Springsteen…”.  Apparently there is another song about dancing in the dark….

I know that my youngest would be familiar with the Springsteen original as we have showed her and her sister the popular video where Courtney Cox joins him on stage.  Perhaps “staged”, but if you would like to enjoy again (direct link, if viewing is not available):

 

 

But it is through my daughter’s interest in Laura Marling’s music that brought my attention to this cover of Dancing in the Dark:

 

I really do like it – maybe even more than the original by Springsteen.  On Doug’s post, he invited us to vote for Springsteen’s recent cover of a Bee Gees song or for their original.  I am going to be lazy and skip a poll, but feel free to comment as you wish or mention your favourite cover, or any cover that you find particularly well done.  It might help us all pass this extra long winter 🙂

And I must say, I do like how social media and youtube seem to help connect my children to our “old stuff” … rather than us just pushing our vinyl records at them. 🙂

