I was not really familiar with Pete Seeger’s music and life, but I have appreciated learning more about him through what has been shared on social media since his death.  I did like playing “Where Have All The Flowers Gone” on my guitar in the past.  I didn’t realize it was one of his songs, or had forgotten.  My recollection of his music is through one of his songs that Melanie Safka covered, “My Rainbow Race”.  It was one of my favourites on one of her albums.  The guitar chords are scribbled over the lyrics on the album’s insert.

“One blue sky above us, one ocean lapping all our shores
One earth so green and round, who could ask for more?….”

Someone posted Melanie’s version on youtube to some spectacular pictures of the Rainbow Mountains In China’s Danxia Landform Geological Park (some further details given there).

I decided to search for Seeger’s original version on youtube and through that I found a translation of this same song that was recently sang at a rally by tens of thousands of people in Oslo, Norway during a tribute to victims of a tragedy (more described on the video post as well).  I am sure this song has been a theme of hope at many gatherings.

My curiosity also led me to his Ode to Joy on banjo and this project of his with some youth, “Forever Young”.  Quotes and articles I saw shared on Twitter, such as this one, spoke to how he not only sang about social justice, but also acted and stood up for change.  Truly inspiring… his care and hope for youth and the earth we live on together.  Shouldn’t the same guide us all more?

